New web page

5 04 2010

Hey there. I’m in the process of trying to move all of my various and sundry web presences into one central location, that location being where you are now. That sentence makes sense, give it another shot.

Anyway, I’m Dan Warren. I’m an evolutionary ecologist, currently on an NSF Bioinformatics postdoc at the University of Texas, working with Dan Bolnick and Matt Leibold. My main area of focus at the moment is on developing methods for using the rapidly expanding pool of ecological data available on the internet in conjunction with phylogenetic trees in order to acquire a deeper, broader understanding of patterns of evolution. I aim to demonstrate these methods in the context of answering interesting biological questions in a variety of systems. I also do some really fun stuff on sperm competition and sperm performance in coral reef fish, particularly labrids, and occasionally work on phylogenetic methods. For more information on my scientific work, click the “science” tab above.

In my spare time, I’m a musician. I dabble in a bunch of different genres on a bunch of different instruments. I used to be in several different bands in Oklahoma, and still am off and on. I spend more time recording solo nowadays, but that will probably change since I’ve recently moved to Austin and I gather that they will forcefully deport you if you haven’t joined a band within six months of establishing residency here. For more info on my music, click the “music” tab above.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment